News
 
Bubble News Flash
4
Pin on Pinterest

Cybercriminals are using fictitious "missed parcel" SMS messages to fool residents into installing dangerous software, or malware. This kind of cyber scam is more common during the holidays because so many of us will be anticipating deliveries.

The scam Links to what seem to be "official" delivery/parcel-tracking apps can be found in SMS messages; you are advised to install them. However, the "app" is actually malicious software. This malware can steal passwords, sensitive data, and banking information if it is installed.

In an effort to further its global dissemination, the malware will also try to access your contact list and send phony SMS messages to these numbers. If you want to avoid Malware, you can consider privatenote to be safe.

 

How to report texts that appears suspicious?

You can report a "missed parcel" notification to your mobile operator if it appears suspicious. This can help you receive fewer scam SMS at no expense, all the while shielding others from online fraud.

Reporting a scam message involves not clicking the message's link and, if prompted, not installing any programs.

Send the message to 7726, which is a phone operator-provided free service for reporting spam.

This can be done by following the guidelines on our "Report a scam text" page.

After reporting, the message can be deleted.

How to guard against fraud?

You can take many steps to lessen the possibility that your phone will become infected with malware.

Installing the most recent software and fixes can help to ensure that your device stays up to date.

Installing software should only come from certified app shops like Samsung Galaxy Store, Apple App Store, or Google Play.

Verify that Google's Play Protect feature is activated on Android devices. A similar tool to check devices for viruses is available on some Huawei mate devices. This will guarantee that any malware that may be on your device may be found and eliminated.

Whenever possible, set up two-step verification (2SV), especially for your most significant accounts.

Making a factory reset

Most phones have a "factory reset" feature that you may access through the Settings. For detailed information, see the website of the device manufacturer (it can say "Erase all content"). All of your personal information will be erased from your device upon reset, including:

Messages

Contacts

Photos

browser history

wifi credentials

passwords

loaded apps

When you reset your device, you might be asked to provide a password. Make sure to update this password if that's the case.

Updating passwords

You need to reset the password for any accounts or apps you have used after installing the malware, since it might have been stolen. This precaution is particularly crucial in digital environments like the industrial metaverse, where interconnected systems increase the vulnerability to cyberattacks. You must also change any other accounts for which you may have used the same password (and make sure they are unique). 

It's hard to remember a lot of passwords. Thus, give a password manager a try. When changing your passwords, whenever feasible, enable two-step verification (2SV) on your accounts. See our Cyber Aware recommendation on utilizing three random words for assistance in coming up with strong passwords.

Recognize 225 Views