India's limited-overs vice-captain Rohit Sharma has been awarded India's highest sporting honour, the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award, the BCCI confirmed on Friday (August 21). Rohit has become just the fourth cricketer to be conferred with this award. The awards will be held virtually on August 29 due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic.

 Rohit had an outstanding 2019 where he scored 1490 runs in ODIs at an average of 57.30, and also finished as the highest run-getter in the World Cup with five centuries in the tournament. He was also promoted as an opener in Test Cricket where he made 556 runs in five matches.

Sachin Tendulkar (1997-98), MS Dhoni (2007) and Virat Kohli (2018) are the other recipients of this award.

Meanwhile, Test seamer Ishant Sharma and women's team allrounder Deepti Sharma have been conferred with the Arjuna award. Senior pacer Ishant, who has now become a vital cog in the Test side, picked up 25 wickets in six Tests last year at an impressive average of 15.56.

Deepti was a part of the side that reached the Women's T20 World Cup final last year in Australia. She picked up 19 wickets in T20Is and 15 wickets in 50-over cricket last year.

The news is transferred from Topcrickets. Read more

Related Posts